Day-to-day business design: what is design in practice

What does a company gain by investing in design?

Everyday design

The question "What does a company gain by investing in design?" is gaining more and more relevance in the modern world. Everyday design is not limited to the creation of beautiful screens. In fact, design in practice seeks to solve real, everyday problems in a human way.

Yes, the world has changed and will continue to change very quickly. Technology evolves daily and the relationship between companies and consumers has changed significantly in the last few years. The customer is not just looking for a product that meets his needs or a service that solves his problem: he needs a quality experience, from beginning to end, so that he will use your product or service again. And it is exactly in this quality experience that design can help your company.

Design Management Institute

(source: DMI / Design Management Institute)

What is UX/UI Design?

User Experience (UX) is the concept of putting the user at the center of the development of any product or service. It is necessary to understand their pains, needs, and context of use so that the product/service provides value, generates good customer experiences, and meets a business need. The company needs to work on building and maintaining the product/service so that the experience gets increasingly better.

What is User Interface (UI)? 

Many people understand that a UI is limited to a screen of an app or website, but the concept of UI is much broader and more complex. For example: 

"Alexa, turn on the air conditioning." 

Communicating with your Alexa, is a beautiful example of a user interface! Although you use a voice command, it is still the interface you use to interact with a product or service, just like your mouse and keyboard. They are different ways to interact with your computer.

What are the differences between UX and UI?

Despite being complementary concepts and being connected, UX and UI play different roles in building the consumer experience.

UX Design or User Experience: is the nomenclature given to classify the customer interaction process with a product or service, based on the available resources and user needs.

Delivering a quality customer experience is fundamental to the success of any brand. UX is present in all stages of product construction, not just the final phase.

In the case of UI or User Interface, this is the area responsible for creating interfaces that are friendlier, more intuitive and with as little "friction" as possible for carrying out the task. Consequently, it impacts on the customer experience, so UX and UI are closely intertwined.

One of the great challenges of the UI area is to uncomplicate the ways of use. This applies especially to the product world. Have you noticed that simple everyday objects, like the remote control, have also changed recently? They are more userfriendly and simple. That's UI!

But the User Interface universe is not only that, in fact, it is more present in your daily life than you can imagine.

Know the advantages of investing in UX/UI Design in your company

Investing in user experience and improvement points is fundamental to have a more strategic business and aligned with the desires of your audience, besides being an excellent opportunity to correct and avoid possible failures.

It has never been more important than now to analyze user behavior, their preferences, and the way they act, so it is important that companies are tuned in to these signals in order to interpret and translate their needs assertively.

Design in Practice: Understand how UX/UI brings more sustainability to your company

You already know that it is important to have a keen eye for user experience, but UX/UI is not just about that, it goes much further.

In order to remain competitive and active, every company needs to ensure that its product or service is assertive. This all starts in the build journey, and UX/UI helps to make accurate decisions, based on data, experiments, and prototypes, bringing more solidity and security, in all stages of this development process.

The digital product market changes rapidly and the continuity of your product can be compromised if you are not aware of the metrics, they are like a compass that will help guide your next steps.

To help you understand more about this, we have listed the main metrics focused on digital product development and the focus of each one, check them out:

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

This metric defines the average cost required to acquire a new customer. CAC is vital for analyzing the viability of a business model and for evaluating investments in product marketing.

Example: if your direct investments in customer acquisition total $20,000 in a month, and you have obtained 20 customers, your CAC is $1,000 per customer.

It is important to mention that this calculation is always done considering also the investments and new customers in the same period.

Customer Lifetime Value (LTV)

LTV or Customer Lifetime Value (CVT), is the value your user provides during the entire period he or she is a subscriber or user of a product. This metric is the key to measuring the financial value of each customer.

Customer Success and Customer Support directly influence this metric. The more satisfied a customer is, the more likely they are to remain a loyal customer.

Churn Rate (CR)

The Cancellation or Abandonment Rate, shows the number of people that are no longer frequent users or subscribers of a digital product. Understanding the impact of this metric on the financial health of your company will make all the difference to keep it profitable and strong in the market for a long time.

The first step is to define a time period for the calculation, it can be annual, halfyearly or monthly. This way, you will have the churn based on a certain defined time. 

Churn = (customers who cancelled)/(customers at the beginning of the month) x 100

Net Promoter Score (NPS)

NPS is a very traditional metric with the purpose of measuring how satisfied users are with your digital product, functionality or service.

There are a number of other metrics such as MAU (monthly active users) and DAU (daily active users), ROI, Bounce Rate, app shop ratings and many others. Each product or service has a specific tracking need.

Testimonial Bank Agency

Now you know how data can guide your business decisions in a strategic way, avoiding mistakes and boosting the positive results of your company.

Don't just stay in theory, it is important to put this knowledge into practice so that you reap all the benefits of investing in Design in the whole process of developing digital products and services.

Read also: How can Quality Assurance help in digital product development?

Everyday design: Check out the main benefits that UX/UI can bring to your business

Increase in conversion

When all stages of the purchase journey are well developed and tested, this boosts the chances of purchase for those who do not yet know your brand and increases the loyalty of customers who have already had positive interactions. 

Better shopping experience

This is one of the goals of any brand, to improve the user experience throughout their buying journey, so it is important to invest in creating a digital environment that enhances their chances of conversion and loyalty. 

Greater credibility

There is no better advertising than customer satisfaction, so it is important to offer an experience that conveys quality and trust. When the user is satisfied, the connection with the brand becomes even stronger.

Strengthening of the brand

When a company demonstrates concern with the experience of its clients, it ends up generating a great approach with the public, which becomes a differential.

 

In the digital context, offering a good customer experience generates feedback that can affect your reputation negatively or positively, especially because in recent years, several platforms have focused their credibility through recommendations. You may have already noticed that it is possible to rate the food of a restaurant, the transport service by app and so many others.

To ensure your customer has a quality experience, it's important to consider UX and UI Design work, both are vital to the success of your brand.

How to apply design practices in your company?

As you may have noticed, it is essential to invest in a humanised, personalised, easy and simple experience. That way, in addition to creating a potential connection you ensure the continuity of your brand.

There is no way to create a successful journey without putting the user at the centre of decisions. levvahas a team of experts with extensive expertise in UX/UI projects. Talk to us and learn how we can help your company!

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